About Me - Jon Kuecker

Name: Jon Kuecker


I was born in Columbus Nebraska where my Dad taught High School Science and coached Volleyball at Lakeview High School (just north of Columbus). I still love to call Columbus my hometown even though I was not there very long, but I have some great friends and some lasting memories. I moved to Kearney in 5th Grade as my Dad took a job at Kearney High and again was the head Volleyball Coach. I attended the Kearney Public Schools system and graduated from KHS. All throughout High School I told myself I would never be a teacher and that I wanted to get away from school. I actually had my sights set on becoming an Engineer.


I attended the University of Nebraska at Kearney after High School and in taking my generals I realized that I wanted to help others like I had for some other friends that needed help with assignments. I ended up switching my focus and degree over to education with my focus being 6-12 Math and Social Science. I do wonder sometimes what the live of an Engineer would have been like but working and seeing others succeed with my help has always steered me back to my passion.


During College & High School I worked a bunch of different jobs such as; Papa Murphy’s, Cabelas, Buzzes Marine, and even as a Service Manager at True Value. After graduation though I was fortunate enough to get hired here at Wood River and have loved every minute of it. I have taught here for 6 years now and am the 6th Grade Math Teacher, teach a section of 6th Grade Social Studies, help Mrs. Edgren with a section of Algebra I, and coach as the head Boys Golf Coach.


Outside of my days here at school, I love spending time with my family. In 2013 I married my wife McKahla and we currently live in Kearney with our two daughters; Kambri (4 years old) and Kessly (1 years old). We also have three dogs; a Golden Retriever named Simba, and two Pomeranians Lucky and Layla. I love going home and spending time with my family and getting to enjoy the outdoors. I am an avid hunter and fisher and any chance I can get I am outside doing one or the other.